International Public Relations

Today is the last day to prepare my essay before the due date to study abroad in France and Romania with Dr. Nastasia. He is offering a one-month course at the end of the spring semester for all junior and senior Speech Communication majors.

During the course, students will be studying at Universities in France and Romania, as well as job shadowing professionals in the PR field. This would be an amazing opportunity, but the application and essay portion is overwhelming because only 12 students will be chosen to participate.

While doing normal class assignments and studying for exams, I have also been writing, editing, rewriting, and having all my friends look over this one page essay for the past week. At first, a one-page essay did not sound too intense. It wasn’t until I found out the number of students who were able to participate when I started to worry.

The essay should answer two questions: why I want to participate and what I hope to learn during this travel abroad.

My reasons for wanting to participate are:
– It’s an amazing opportunity that students are not always exposed to.
– To experience and learn at international Universities.
– To gain first hand experience in PR firms while job shadowing other professionals.
– To broaden my job opportunities.

What I hope to learn during this travel abroad:
– To learn other cultural values.
– To gain a solid and diverse background in all aspects of public relations.

Hopefully, by the end of the night, I will have full confidence in my essay and will then send it in to the professor.

4 thoughts on “International Public Relations

  1. I hope my input helped! This would be such a great opportunity for you and I wish you the best of luck with it. I wish I didn’t have to pass this one up but if for some reason it doesn’t work out for you this time around there’s always next year with me 🙂 !

  2. eauer1992 says:

    Dear Cassie,

    I am sure that your essay is more than perfect and I am definitely jealous that you are applying for this program! I would have loved the opportunity to sign up and have a chance of going however; I am unfortunately only in my second year here at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. I think that this program offers such an amazing experience, not only do you get to travel the world for really not a lot of money to ask for, but you get this amazing work and life experience along with it. One thing that I personally enjoyed learning about was the fact that you would actually be shadowing someone who actually works in international public relations. I think that the shadowing aspect of this program will really be something amazing! I feel like you would get to learn so much just in the four weeks that you would be gone for. Not only would you cover the material but you actually get to see the material in a real life-working environment. I hope that you get this opportunity to travel and broaden your experiences! I will definitely keep my fingers crossed for you! Thank you again for sharing this post with everyone.

    Ellie

  3. […] International Public Relations by Cassie Hoffman – Thinking, Writing & Living… […]

  4. […] doing. You’ve got a big heart. I hope your time in Europe was amazing. Comment # 9. International Public Relations by Cassie Hoffman. November 14, 2011. I hope my input helped! This would be such a great […]

Leave a comment