Half the Battle

An entry sign at Southern Illinois University ...

Image via Wikipedia

At such a young age, students are forced to make a life changing decision: What do I want to be when I grow up? Some people know as young as five, while others are 30 and still undecided. For me, choosing my occupation was a battle. One day I wanted to be a teacher, and the next day I wanted to be nurse, and the next I had no clue! For my first three years of college, I must have changed my mind at least five times. Little did I know, changing my major each semester set off my date until I was able to graduate. Therefore, I knew it was time to do some serious thinking and research to figure out just what I was doing.

Since I was in high school, I have been working as an administrative assistant at a convention center. Here we hold banquets, weddings, meetings, trade shows, and conventions. I completely love my job and the atmosphere. Places like this are never dull, and each day is always different.

When I was at work one day, it finally hit me. Managing events, as well as working with people in the process, was exactly the job for me! This made me ask Kati, our event coordinator and my work mentor, what she went to school for. She then told me she studied public relations at SIUE, and I immediately knew that I wanted to follow in her footsteps.

After three years of struggling to decide what I wanted to major in and where I wanted to transfer, I finally figured out my destination. That’s what brings me here to SIUE studying public relations.

I’m so excited to jump into this semester knowing exactly what I am here to achieve!

5 thoughts on “Half the Battle

  1. jjadkins89 says:

    There are so many choices in life and I completely agree that at a young age were almost forced to figure out what our career path insists of. I just simply picked a major that I can grow in as well as use it for just about anything. My major is Business with a minor in marketing just to kind of keep my options open even if I do or do not become a business owner or work for a firm etc. I wish you the best of luck Cassie in your career goals and hopefully this semester you do well! Cheers!

  2. I’m glad you decided to write about this, Cassie. Because until recently I was in a freakishly similar boat! I too, spent 3 years at SWIC starting right out of high school. I had no idea what I wanted to do. I didn’t even want to be there in the first place. However my “Ah ha!” moment came from a much more ignorant place. I was sitting on my couch watching “What Women Want” on TBS and then I knew…I wanted to be the brunette Helen Hunt. With that being said I want to wish both of us and all of the other new SIUE students good luck for the semester!

  3. jenirae says:

    I agree completely with you! We graduate at the age of 18 and people start asking right away where we are going to school and what we are majoring in. There is a lot of pressure on us at a young age to decide. I also feel like these deicisions are made without any real experience in the field. You are very lucky to see what can be done and know what you want to do with your degree. I started out in nursing and was a year away from graduating when I decided to change. Good luck this semester in all your classes!

  4. vaupont says:

    I feel like every college student goes through obstacles when it comes to choosing a major. It is one of the biggest decisions of our future. It determines what we will be doing in the future and it will determine our financial status. My advice to someone picking a major is imagining you years from now. Is it sitting at office desk or looking over your workers? Many times when you do pick a major it is not guaranteed you will be in that field when you get older. For example my mother major was criminal justice but she works at Chicago Tribune (the newspaper). I also have changed my major multiple times. At first it was human resources, then criminal justice and finally I changed it to public relations; which is my final decision.

Leave a Reply

